Monkey Bread Recipe (aka Pull-Apart Breakfast Bread)

photo courtesy of RAWRZ

This recipe is a favorite of my family’s. Whenever I make it, I can never get the perfect circle to the table as the moment it cools enough, mom, dad, and brother all jump on it, pulling apart the little balls.

I remember having this particular recipe when I was very little at a picnic.  I liked it but never thought I would be able to make it myself. Imagine my surprise when my seventh grade home economics teacher produced a recipe for Pull-Apart Breakfast Bread and after completing the cooking process, came up with something that resembled the desert I’d had on that picnic.

It is my pleasure to share with you, the recipe:

  • 2 Tbsp Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 package (12 oz) Refridgerated biscuits
  • 2 Tbsp Margarine or butter melted

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit (200 degrees Celsius). Lightly spray an 8-inch (20 cm) round cake pan.

2. In a small bowl, stir cinnamon and sugar until combined.

3. Cut biscuits into quarters. Add a few biscuits at a time to margarine, separating pieces with fingers.  Move to bowl of spice and roll until coated.  Arrange in one layer in prepared pan.

4. Bake for 12 to 14 minutes or until golden brown. Turn upside down and serve on late. Pull apart to serve or let cool for five minutes before cutting into wedges.

Note: Since this recipe is not really something that requires much knowledge of food science, it is okay to adjust the amounts of butter or margarine as needed as well as your cinnamon/sugar mix.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Monkey Bread Recipe (aka Pull-Apart Breakfast Bread)

  1. Sounds/looks delicious! I love monkey bread, but totally cheat and get the kind from the freezer that you can microwave. Definitely not the same as this, I’m sure, but still awesome!

Leave a Reply

