NaNoWriMo: Halfway There and Still Imagining + CHALLENGE

On November 1st, I embarked on my first honest attempt at National Novel Writing Month, (NaNoWriMo). That means no head editing, just spilling the scenes into my head into a word document. Now halfway through the month that word document is 79 pages double-spaced, and my word count is exactly 26,361.  Overall the story is shaping up pretty nicely, not sure about my writing but that’s what editing is for.

My observations about my NaNoWriMo writing habits? Well for one, most of my writing gets done at midnight and beyond when no one else is awake to possibly bother me and after my homework gets done. If there’s a scene in my head it’s easy to churn out the recommended 1,667 words. However a downfall that I think will come up in the editing process is I tend to let my characters go into internal monologue or circular arguments that don’t really go anywhere.  Given that NaNoWriMo is not an exercise in producing quality but simply producing I will not go back and edit these things now but I will add them to my list of concerns.

Another thing I noticed is that the  ideas I get for scenes come to me at one of two particular times. One is while I am writing a completely unrelated scene and my mind goes on a tangent about what I should write next.  The second time is when I am doing something that is not NaNoWriMo related. (Yea, that paper I worked on for Hail Wedded Love last week, definitely inspired the artificial intelligence in my store. )

Which is one of the reasons that why I am worried about how much time I will have to write next weekend, with the premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and a Wizard Wrock Festival, I realize that the events are important and more then likely someone I don’t know, who I’ve never met, will say something that will spark a thought in my head and then it will lead to another 2,000 words of NaNoWriMo.

Also, a lovely challenge to my faithful readers and those who might be reading this for the first time.

I am not revealing my plot to you guys but I would you to blindly prompt me with a question about my novel. Characters? Relationships? Favorite alcoholic beverage? Anything is fair game. Whatever you want to know, whatever makes a character interesting to you, put me to the challenge and ask me a question.

Come on readers! I dare you!

I will write up scenes and post a few samplings here when I reach 35,000 words.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Halfway There and Still Imagining + CHALLENGE

  1. Think of each and every character in your novel – even your main character’s parents whether they’re alive or dead – and consider whether or not they like raspberries.

    It may seem trivial. But I think you’ll find a lot can come out of raspberries.

Leave a Reply

