Mission Accomplished: 50,109 Words in 29 Days

I am proud to say that on November 29th I accomplished my goal of writing 50,000 words in one month.  Considering I got off to a pretty late start on November 1st, and was about to lose my will to embark on this journey I am very proud of myself for writing as much as I did.

At the end of this month I have some reflections about the way in which I handled NaNoWriMo and that is most telling if we look at my NaNoWriMo graph:

The purple line represents the suggested word count from the organizers of NaNoWriMo (about 1,667 words per day to finish on time). The first day I wrote 3,000 words and from there tried to write at least the minimum if not more to stay above the purple line, just in case some of those days the words wouldn’t come.   In about the third week I really needed it, there were three days when I was forcing the minimum out until inspiration struck again so that I could finish up the month.

The Process

Overall what I learned from this that when I get stuck on a writing project I should push forward and see where it goes.   I am not sure how much of this original plot I will end up keeping but I do know that I think this story is worth saving and I want to spend some time editing and revising it.  The most important thing that NaNoWriMo taught me was that I should write something everyday. On the days that I didn’t write I was working on school papers and articles for the school newspaper. More then likely I was working on them during the days I was writing as well, but the fact that I had a story and an outside project to escape to when working on term papers became to tedious was a real comfort.

The Plot?

Regarding the plot of my book. I still feel a bit odd discussing it, but I imagine one word to describe it would be “steampunk.” I haven’t quite built the world that its in to the fullest but it’s on my list of things to do when I revise. My character on the other hand are three sisters: Maud, Cassandra, and Adelle and centers around the exploration of their relationships and their marriages. Particularly it focuses on Maud.  I’ll release more details when the plot gets to be a bit richer in the editing process.

I am very happy with my characters but I feel that there might be certain aspects that could be changed about them to give them more depth and  more interest and I think that is part of what the editing process is about. I managed to turn off “active editor” mode but I did not manage to turn off my mind to what I was writing.  As I wrote I made notes on things that I wanted to include things that would make the story more effective as I was writing that didn’t quite factor in. I plan on pulling those out of the box when I revise this manuscript.

What’s next?

NaNoWriMo has several official and unofficial challenges put up by various sites. They’re listed on the “Now What?” page of the official site. As far as I am concerned.  I am planning to commit 50 hours of editing this novel in the month of March for National Novel Editing Month (NaNoEdMo) and then partaking in ScriptFrenzy again in April. Maybe even working on Write A Damn Novel in June (WriDaNoJu).

2 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished: 50,109 Words in 29 Days

Leave a Reply

